University of Wisconsin-La Crosse | uwlax.edu

History

Surround yourself with tradition. Surround yourself with UW-La Crosse.

Expand page menu
Skip to page menu

Our people

Department Chair

John Grider Profile
Associate Professor
401A Wimberly Hall
jgrider@uwlax.edu
608.785.8361
Specialty areas: Maritime history, Labor & Working-class history, Native American history, and history of the American West

Academic Department Associate

Rebecca Viner Profile
Academic Department Associate
401B Wimberly Hall
rviner@uwlax.edu
608.785.8350

Department people

Ariel Beaujot Profile
Associate Professor
403A Wimberly Hall
abeaujot@uwlax.edu
608.785.6798
Specialty areas:

Public History, British History, Fashion, Material Culture, Gender Studies


Office hours:

Tuesday and Thursday 11:00 am-12:00 pm or by appointment office: 403A

Deborah Buffton Profile
Professor
403H Wimberly Hall
dbuffton@uwlax.edu
608.785.8359
Specialty areas:

Modern France, Modern China, effects of war on society, peace movements


Office hours:

Monday and Wednesday 1:10-3:15 and by appointment

Mark Chavalas Profile
Professor
403D Wimberly Hall
mchavalas@uwlax.edu
608.785.8360
Specialty areas:

Ancient Near East, Classical, Biblical, archaeology


Office hours:

Fall T-TH 9:25-10:50, 1:45-2:10, 3:45-4:30 and by appt.

Jess Hollenback Profile
Associate Professor
403G Wimberly Hall
jhollenback@uwlax.edu
608.785.8348
Specialty areas: History of religions (Comparative religions)
Gerald Iguchi Profile
Assistant Professor
403P Wimberly Hall
giguchi@uwlax.edu
608.785.8355
Specialty areas: Japanese History, Asian History, and World History; Cultural Studies; Buddhism and other Religions
Office hours: M/W 2:10 - 3:10 and by Appointment (by Email)
Barbara Kooiman Profile
Lecturer
403N Wimberly Hall
bkooiman@uwlax.edu
608.785.8358
James Longhurst Profile Office hours
Associate Professor
403F Wimberly Hall
jlonghurst@uwlax.edu
608.785.8344
Specialty areas:

public policy, urban environmental history, and the social and cultural history of modern America

Marti Lybeck Profile
Assistant Professor
403B Wimberly Hall
mlybeck@uwlax.edu
608.785.8347
Specialty areas: Gender and Sexuality, Modern Europe, 19th and 20th Century Germany
Office hours: Tuesday 1:30-3:30, Friday 9:30-10:30
Víctor Macías-González Profile Office hours
Professor
403J Wimberly Hall
vmacias-gonzalez@uwlax.edu
608.785.8349
Specialty areas:

Latin American, Mexican, Latina/o, and Gender and Sexuality History and Mexican cultural history.  Focus on nineteenth-century Mexico, especially the Porfiriato (1876-1911). Interests include diplomacy, transnational migration, Mexican communities abroad (London, Paris, Chicago), Mexican-British relations in the Victorian Age, consumption and material culture, masculinity, Latin@s in the Midwest, and the homophile movement.

Heidi Morrison Profile
Associate Professor
403C Wimberly Hall
hmorrison@uwlax.edu
608.785.8345
Gita Pai Profile
Assistant Professor
403M Wimberly Hall
gpai@uwlax.edu
608.785.8352
Specialty areas:

History of early modern to contemporary South Asia


Office hours:

On leave until June 2017

Shelley Sinclair Profile
Associate Professor
403L Wimberly Hall
ssinclair@uwlax.edu
608.785.8354
Kenneth Shonk Profile
Assistant Professor
336B Wimberly Hall
kshonk@uwlax.edu
608.785.6860
Patricia Stovey Profile
Assistant Professor
403E Wimberly Hall
pstovey@uwlax.edu
608.785.8353
Specialty areas: Regional Director, National History Day
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays, 1:00-2:15
Tiffany Trimmer Profile
Assistant Professor
403K Wimberly Hall
ttrimmer@uwlax.edu
608.785.6799
Specialty areas:

World History, Migration History, How La Crosse connects to World History, British Empire 19th-20th C.


Office hours:

M W F: 11:10 - 11:45 am

M W: 2:30 - 4:30 pm

(and by appt)

Jennifer Trost Profile
Associate Professor
336A Wimberly Hall
jtrost@uwlax.edu
608.785.6627
Specialty areas:

History of Identity Theft and Impersonation; History of Identification and Surveillance Policy; Juvenile Justice Policy


Office hours:

Fall 2016: MWF 2:10 p.m. - 3:00 p.m., and by appointment

Julie Weiskopf Profile
Associate Professor
403I Wimberly Hall
jweiskopf@uwlax.edu
608.785.6476
Specialty areas: Africa, colonial and postcolonial Tanzanian history, histories of resettlement, public health, and conservation.
Office hours: Mondays 1-2, Tuesdays 10-12, Thursdays 11-12, and by appointment

Emeritus Faculty

Jean Helliesen

Charles Lee

Gary Kuhn

Curtis Kang

Bruce Mouser

James Parker

William Pemberton

James Potts

Richard Snyder

Gregory P. Wegner

Martin Zanger